
One hundred and thirty cards. The Ferengi affiliation, Rules of Acquisition cards,
arms dealers, commercial exploitation, vacuum-desiccated Ferengi remains,

treachery, greed, bribery, extortion…
“Deep down, everyone’s a Ferengi” (the 284th Rule of Acquisition)

NEW RULES
Ferengi attack restrictions – The Ferengi affiliation has the standard attack restriction: it
may initiate battle against any affiliation except its own (unless allowed by another
card), but may return fire and counter-attack against anyone.

Variable attributes – Some personnel have an X in one of their attribute boxes, with a
corresponding special skill such as “X=2 or 7.” Each time you need to know the value
of a variable attribute, the owner of the card may choose one of the listed values at
that time – it is not necessary to specify one in advance. Whenever the special skill is
unusable (for example, because of Brain Drain or Hate Crime), the attribute is
undefined and thus treated as zero (like Mortal Q’s CUNNING).

Phasing Cloak – This device allows a ship and its crew to go “out of phase” with the
universe. The ship is both invisible and untouchable, and thus can fly right through
planets and other navigational obstructions. In game terms, ships with this capability
may “phase” or “dephase” once each turn. (While phased, the ship receives a RANGE
enhancement as indicated on the card.)

Phasing has the same protections and restrictions as cloaking. In addition, the ship and
crew are not affected by external phenomena (for example, Q-Net, Temporal Rift,
Supernova, Space-Time Portal and Anti-Matter Pod). However, they are still vulnerable
to global effects caused by changes in the timeline, such as Anti-Time Anomaly and
Stop First Contact.

Phasing and cloaking are separate game conditions; thus, cards such as Tachyon
Detection Grid, La Forge Maneuver, T’Rul and the Tachyon Drone do not affect phased
ships (but note that Engage Cloak specifically states that it also works for phasing). If
a ship has both a Cloaking Device and a Phasing Cloak, it may perform only one
cloaking, decloaking, phasing or dephasing action each turn and it may not be cloaked
and phased at the same time.

NEW ICON
This “Rule” icon appears on Event cards implementing various Ferengi Rules of

Acquisition, as well as the Equipment card representing the book of all 285 Rules. Its
use is defined by various cards in this expansion.

REVISED RULES
Dual-Icon Missions – When a Space/Planet dilemma is encountered during a

dual-icon mission attempt, the player attempting the mission must choose whether that
dilemma applies to his crew or to his Away Team. (Such dilemmas no longer apply to
both groups.)

Jem’Hadar Suicide – The rule that Jem’Hadar must commit suicide when a Founder dies
is hereby canceled. (This function may appear on a card in a future set.)

NOTES AND CLARIF ICATIONS
Breen CRM114 – Your Away Team using this disruptor to damage a planet facility or
landed ship is making a special kind of attack; thus a leader is required and the Away
Team is subject to its normal attack restrictions. The attack automatically succeeds,
causing one damage marker from your Battle Bridge side deck (no damage is caused if
you aren’t using the side deck). Cards involved in the attack are “stopped” and your
opponent is allowed to counter-attack there normally.

Cargo Bay – This site allows ships to earn extra card draws by making “cargo runs”
between facilities. You only get credit for Mission cards your ship actually passes (that
is, those whose span numbers you use), and only if they occur in a direct path
between the two facilities. You may not count the same mission more than once
during the same cargo run. As specified on the site, you also may not count the
starting and ending locations (even if you fly back and forth in an attempt to “pass”
those locations).

Forced Labor Camp – This objective refers to two existing planet locations: Cardassia IV
and Ligos VII. Cardassia IV is the location of the Rescue Prisoners mission (found
randomly in Deep Space Nine starter decks), and Ligos VII is the location of Distress
Mission (found in each Introductory Two-Player Game).
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